Depression, Multiple Sclerosis and how painting my nails became my therapy. 

For those of you who don’t know about MS and what it can do to the body here is a link http://www.nationalmssociety.org/ to the national ms society. This will give you a basic understanding of the disease. 

I am not going to go into the definition and treatments because every one who has MS is affected differently by it. This is my story and more importantly how I cope.

First off let me just say the true way I cope is spiritually. That comes first and foremost and nail polish is secondary. So this blog is how I have learned to deal with this debilitating disease. 

One of the many side effects of MS is depression. Sometimes I don’t want to admit that is what I’m going through because I have always been a “glass half full” kind of person. But I’m learning that I have to admit it in order to deal with it.

So we moved into a house and my in laws live in the top portion and my family lives in the basement apartment. Now my room is dark and cozy and it has become my cave. There are days when I never leave this room. Well that was contributing to my depression and I didn’t even realize it. I would just lay in bed and blindly watch tv or some days cry for apparently no reason. It began to slowly drain the life out of me.

Then a really good friend of mine invited me to join her nail group on Facebook. This was the day that is the day I began to live again. Now I had interaction with other nail polish lovers. There were challenges to keep me engaged. Also these ladies helped me to learn to paint my nails better. I finally had something to look forward to. 

So next I began to transform part of my cave into my nail polish space. Shelves went up, nail polish holders came and it began to transform into my sanctuary. It is still a work in progress and I am now wanting to change my storage system for a cleaner look, but now I look over and see endless possibilities of creativity. 

This doesn’t mean that I don’t still suffer from depression and pain from MS in general. But it just means I have an outlet for days when I don’t want to cry or stay in bed all day. Now I can blog or just simply paint my nails and that is where this journey has lead me.

So I’m ending this with a challenge to you. What are your coping mechanisms when depression or chronic illness takes you over? If you don’t have one find one. Mine just happens to be nail polish but yours may be cooking, photography or knitting. Whatever it may be find it and cling to it and please share in the comments how you cope with depression and chronic illness. 

Also please follow my blog for more craziness and interaction. I love to meet new people and share experiences in this thing called Life!!!

Leave a Reply

